Two Tandem Poems with a 3-Year-Old

A few weeks ago the kids and I went to a family poetry workshop with educator and poet Mckendy Fils-Aime. During the workshop, participants paired up with each other to write collaborative poetry.  The ultimate goal was to write a poem from two different perspectives about the same topic. JohnJohn was my partner. We wrote two poems.  They are not quite Whistling Vivaldi, but Molly and Joseph keep asking me to re-read them to them anyway. Can you tell which author created which lines? Also, are we ready for our first poetry slam?

THE SEAGULL

I play on my ninja surfboard.
A giant seagull circles.
I eat a sandwich. It tastes like salami.
The seagull spots my son.
I try to feed the bird some bread.
I start swinging.
I feed him food from my hand and he pokes me with his face.
I freak out, yelling and running and finally…
I feel like I want to pet him.
I knock my son down, tripping, we both fall away from him.

 

DESSERT AT NANA’S

I like to play my iPad in Nana’s basement.
Bellies full, we wash and dry.
Nana calls me for a snack – – flat cake.
We sip our wine.
Sweet and yellow, I want 5 pieces.
I cut up JohnJohn’s pound cake.
I yell. I DON’T WANT IT CUT UP!
I jerk my hand back, hoping he won’t see the first cut.
I CAN’T EAT THAT CAKE!
Why not? (ahhh.  I should have known.)
IT’S IN PIECES!
I finish my wine and cut another slice.

One thought on “Two Tandem Poems with a 3-Year-Old

What do you think?

