Cheers, Karla! Finally, Molly’s Rainbow Smoothie Recipe

A few months ago, as part of my effort to change some of my habits, I started making a morning smoothie for the kids and I to drink .

I got the idea from my husband, Joe.  A few years ago, right after we moved back to the Northeast, he read in some random tourist brochure about a guy from the area who swore by kale-banana smoothies.  After realizing that the most nutritious greens are the cheapest, the man bought whatever greens were in season, froze them, and smoothied them year round.

Joe agreed that, especially for a meat lover like him, daily smoothies were a pretty simple way to boost veggie intake.  On our very next grocery trip, we bought the cheapest greens, which turned out to be kale.  And he started throwing kale, frozen blueberries and 2% unsweetened Greek yogurt into the blender every morning.  He’s at it most every damn day with them ever since.

I am not a lover of dark green vegetables.  And the word “unsweetened” has never been in my vocabulary.  But, honestly, while I feel like I’m aging on hyperspeed, my husband seems to be aging in reverse.  If there is something – – as he says almost every time he drinks them – – to these smoothies helping him look and, more importantly, feel good, I had to get over myself and give them a try.

There was no way I could go right to kale, plain yogurt and a few berries.

Instead, we tried protein smoothies.  We tried vegetable smoothies.  We tried fruit smoothies.  After about 30 recipes, we eventually landed on this recipe, which we call “Molly’s Rainbow Smoothie” because she was the one to tweak it for us.  This pretty much fills our blender and serves 1-2 adults and 3 kids, depending on how much we each feel like drinking.

My kids ask for these, that’s how good they are to drink.

After almost 6 months of trying to incorporate them into my diet, I’ve noticed that I eat less junk during the day, I have more energy, and I do think they are somehow filling in my wrinkles (kidding!  just making sure you are paying attention).

They are a little bit of a pain to make because they are best fresh and you have to clean the blender every day.  Even with that, I can honestly say that I miss them if we skip.  This small act really does make me feel good.

Molly’s Rainbow Smoothie Recipe

Blend together until smooth:

  • 1 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 apple, cored
  • 1 orange worth of juice or ¼ cup orange juice
  • 1 lemon worth of juice
  • 2 adult-sized fistfuls of spinach or kale or 4 kid-sized fistfuls
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • ½ cucumber or 1 cubed avocado
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened 2% Greek yogurt (optional, but Joe likes it for the added protein kick)

If you want it sweeter, add 1 Stonyfield yogurt drink, as I do for the kids.  If you don’t have all the ingredients, improvise.

SONY DSC

Cheers!

What do you think?

