Kitchen Renovation Day 50!

After about 5 weeks living mostly apart, the kids and I are finally home for good (I think).  I’ve been in NY with the kids as my Mom recovered from surgery.  Joe’s been home working and renovating our kitchen.  Yay, home!!

This was the longest Joe and I have lived apart.  We don’t even like to go out without each other.  I know.  Not very modern.  I don’t care.  We like it that way.

Feeling like a contestant on one of those reality shows where a designer and a construction worker take over your house while you leave, I came home to find the kitchen almost completely finished!  All of the cabinets are in.  The appliances are in (and working).  The floor is stained.  The walls are painted.  The countertops are being cut.  I have been given the go-ahead to find a pig-themed paper towel holder.

I love the kitchen.  It’s better than I imagined.  I am so happy we will finally be able to unpack all of the stuff we packed up 4 years ago.  I am so happy to be home.  But you know what really makes me happy?  That little girl in the corner of my fancy new kitchen.

wpid-20140301_205221.jpg

Also, having an ice maker that works.

Also, having an ice maker that works.

wpid-20140227_200715.jpg

And a nephew that adores my son almost as much as I do.

And helping my nieces and nephews to learn the art of persuasion.

And helping my nieces and nephews to learn the fine art of persuasion.

What do you think?

