Living Within Your Harvest is a Talent you can Practice

I had many talents as a student.  I knew how to stay quiet.  I sat still in class.  I was reasonably bright.  I worked hard.  I participated.  And I knew how to take a test.  I could compete.  In my 18+ years of school, I ticked off achievements like items on my vegetarian grocery list.

I had a full basket but I was always wondering if I had enough fruit or how long my vegetables would last.    And could I actually make anything with what I had in that basket?  Plus, I was always checking out other people’s baskets.  Maybe I needed meat?  Was my basket big enough?  Oh, I wish I had more apples!

I don't think I once, ever really enjoyed my work just for the sake of enjoying it.

I don’t think I once ever really enjoyed my work just for the sake of enjoying it.

What a shame.  Instead of enjoying what I had, I always had an eye on others.  I had to.  You can’t compete if you don’t know what you are competing against.

Competition is a cornerstone of American public education.  One look at the website for the Common Core State Standards Initiative, which 45 U.S. states have adopted, will tell you that.

Here’s a talent I wish I had but don’t:  finding contentment inside.  That is, giving up what I thought I should do, and instead living within my own harvest.   I’ve come a long way, but it’s still not something I do well.  You can take the girl out of school but you can’t take the school out of the girl.

On this first day of Autumn, I am grateful that of all aptitudes, being satisfied with what you’ve got is a talent you can practice.  And I’m proof that with that practice, you can improve.

One of my greatest achievements?  I’m also grateful to be able to give my children the luxury and freedom to make and reap their own harvests unfettered by nagging comparisons.  It is one of the best things about not having them in school.

Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect?

Tell us about a talent you’d love to have… but don’t.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TALENT.

6 thoughts on “Living Within Your Harvest is a Talent you can Practice

  1. I enjoyed your post today. The metaphor is quite appropriate. Being okay with what you have, making (or learning to make) something with what is in your basket.

    I, too, am a homeschooler. My perfectionist daughter gets very frustrated when endeavors don’t result in the perfect picture she has in her mind. At those times, I remind her that she didn’t always know how to walk or how to read. Both things took time and effort. After reading your post, I might add to those reminders an encouragement that she does have the ability within herself to achieve, if not perfection, results that will satisfy her.

    Thank you for sharing this today.

    • Nerdy Woman, thank you for your comment! I’m still getting used to putting myself out there as a writer and I wasn’t sure if I just sounded like a competetive jerk here. I’m definitely a work in progress but being with my kids most days is teaching me so much. I hope you enjoy homeschooling as much as I do! Thanks again for your input.

  2. Pingback: The Talent I Don’t Have :/ | The Arkside of Thought

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Practice Makes Perfect? | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Talents | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Do I really wish for talent? | Rob's Surf Report

What do you think?

