Apps for Homeschoolers

I get a lot of questions about how we use technology in our house.  We don’t have TV but we do use the iPad and the computer for videos and games.  And while we do put limits on time usage, we generally just try to do what makes sense.  No arbitrary rules.

I also get a lot of requests for Apps that we use.  Most recently, someone asked for a list “of apps that a real homeschooler like yourself uses”.  I thought that was sweet and funny.  So, starting today, I will try to share Apps worth your attention.

Here is an App worth your attention:

JohnJohnEndlessAlphabet

My 19-month-old knows more about the iPad than I do

Endless Alphabet is an interactive dictionary.   The player picks a word.  The word appears on the screen with its letters jumbled around it.  The player then drags each letter to the right position on the word with his finger.  As he does, the letter he touches makes its sound.  Once all the letters are in place, the word is defined with a short animation.

This is an especially useful App because all three of my kids benefit from it:  it teaches my 19-month-old letter shapes and sounds, my 5-year-old letter sounds and combinations, and my 6-year-old vocabulary.  Everybody wins!

The App is free but they do charge you $.99 to remove ads, which I think is worth it.  I do wish they just charged me that up front though.

If you have any recommendations, please let me know!

What do you think?

