One Foot in Front of the Other

Back before we had kids my husband and I ran together often.  Short runs.  Long runs.  Slow runs.  Fast runs.  Race runs.  I loved running so much that even when I broke my foot at mile 16 of a marathon, I still finished the race.  And then, two years later, when I thought I was healed and tried to run a shorter race (1/2 marathon) I broke it again.  But I still finished!  Because I love running.  Also, I am a very determined (stupid) person.

After we had kids and I got some sense about taking care of my injuries and not running for awhile, I missed running.  I missed a lot about running.  The time with my husband.  The time to think.  The time to feel my powerful little frame doing its thing.  The time to just enjoy the beauty and variety of the routes  I took.  I missed it all.

Now that my daughter (and my son, almost) is old enough to run I am feeling the itch again.  Part of it is that Molly is a born runner, all lungs and legs.  It turns out she loves running too.  And not just any kind of running.  She loves slow paced, long distance, fun running.  She is a perfect running partner for me right now.

#8 on my bucket list is running a 5k with my kids.  The kids and my husband are interested in running a race together.   I love it when we all share a goal!  We are going to walk the Race for the Cure this Mother’s Day with my sisters-in-law and their daughters, which is something I am really looking forward to doing.  And hopefully run The Color Run or something equally fun this summer.  They seem as excited about it as I am.  And so I am slowly adding running back into my exercise routines.

Let me tell you something.  It is hard.  Really, really, hard.  I cannot believe it has only been a few years!  Right now all I want to do is run a 10 minute mile and it hurts!  But I will do it.  I will get comfortable running a 5k again.  This time, no injuries.  One step at a time.

I had to take a picture of my feet because my face was sucking wind so hard

I had to take a picture of my feet because my face was sucking wind so hard.

What do you think?

