The Results are in!

wpid-2013-02-22-10.21.44.png

Unbelievable.  We have our standardized tests results already!  It was so much easier than I expected.  The hardest part was deciding which test to use.

We used the complete battery of Iowa Tests of Basic Skills® (ITBS®) because, although a little more work than, say, the California Achievement Test, it was recommended to us by other homeschoolers as being a pretty thorough exam.  As we were doing it anyway to satisfy state homeschooling requirements, we figured we should try to get as much information as possible.

I do think that I know where my kids are developmentally because I evaluate their progress on a daily basis.  Nonetheless, it is helpful to have a nationally normed standardized test to round out that information.  I know that there are those critical of standardized tests but both my husband and I have advanced degrees and we could not have gotten them without them.  So I see them as a necessary part educating our kids.

For those asking, we ordered ours from Seton Testing.  I called them before I ordered and they were very helpful in helping us choose which test and level to administer to the kids.  Once I ordered, the tests arrived in about a week.  They graded the tests the same day that they received them back.  The results gave both raw and comparative scores and each was broken down by subject.

You may be asking yourself why Joseph was tested when he is only 4.  Well, he likes to do what Molly does and so it was just easier to include him.  Testing only begins at Kindergarten and so we gave him that one.  It was definitely worth it.

What are your thoughts on standardized tests?  We are still new at this so I would love to hear your thoughts.

What do you think?

