Never, ever, say no to Flowers

So, Dad is away.  That means that we are going up to bath and books about 2 hours earlier each night.  Which means we are getting up about an hour earlier each morning.  So, we all woke up about 6:00 a.m. this morning.  That is actually a good thing as, in recent weeks, we have allowed bed time to go way too late.  The first thing I saw in the semi-darkness when I came down the stairs this morning was this:

wpid-2013-02-23-07.16.21.png

It’s a bouquet that my daughter picked out at the grocery store yesterday.  When she asked to buy it, as she does every time we shop, I said “No.  We don’t need flowers right now.”  She put them back.  I paused a beat and realized that I had no reason to say no.  So, I said, “I’m sorry, Molly.  Get the flowers.  You should never, ever, say no to flowers.  Right?”  And we bought them.

And when I saw them first thing they, of course, made me smile.  The picture does not do them justice.  And they actually smell really great too.

Sometimes I say “No” for a good reason.  But this wasn’t one of them.  Why did I automatically say “No”?  Do you ever do that?

More importantly, what can we say “Yes” to today?

What do you think?

