Wendell Berry’s Blue Bathrobe

I was looking for a poem for Letter/Poem Monday and came across an author I hadn’t read in years.  I was looking for a poem about bathrobes because my kids are totally into their bathrobes right now and I thought it would be fun and I am just tickled that I found this again.  We almost used this poem for our wedding.  Maybe I’ll save it for our 50th anniversary!  Enjoy!

The Blue Robe

By Wendell Berry

How joyful to be together, alone
as when we first were joined
in our little house by the river
long ago, except that now we know

each other, as we did not then;
and now instead of two stories fumbling
to meet, we belong to one story
that the two, joining, made. And now

we touch each other with the tenderness
of mortals, who know themselves:
how joyful to feel the heart quake

at the sight of a grandmother,
old friend in the morning light,
beautiful in her blue robe!

What do you think?

